The Intersolar AWARD – Powering the Future with Innovation

Intersolar strives to promote the industry’s power to innovate. As the world's leading exhibition series for the solar industry and its partners, Intersolar focuses on the technologies and services which make solar power globally successful, now and in the future.

In this context, the Intersolar AWARD is presented to companies making a substantial contribution to the success of the industry. Each year, the solar award honors technological innovations and groundbreaking solutions around the topic of the AWARD category Photovoltaics. Over a period of more than 15 years, the flagship award for the solar industry has given solar companies a unique platform to gain broad international recognition and distinguish themselves from the competition.

Technologies for the Intersolar AWARD

Innovations in the area of photovoltaics are driving the modernization of the energy infrastructure worldwide. The coveted Intersolar AWARD has set itself the goal of honoring these innovations with the award category Photovoltaics. Innovative PV technologies can be submitted such as:

  • Solar cells and modules

  • Balance of systems

  • PV components (cables, connectors, junction boxes, etc.)

  • Mounting systems, installation aids

  • Tracking systems

  • Production technologies

  • Solar Power Plants

  • Other


  • HUAWEI Technologies (China): SUN2000-330KTL
  • Shenzhen Aiko Digital Energy Technology (China): ABC modules
  • WAVELABS Solar Metrology Systems (Germany): SINUS-360 ADVANCED

More information at the HALL OF FAME


Intersolar AWARD Finalists 2023

The Intersolar AWARD Finalists 2023 are:

  • DAH Solar Co., Ltd.
  • Enphase Energy GmbH
  • Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
  • Shenzhen Aiko Digital Energy Technology Co., Ltd.
  • SmartHelio Sarl
  • SolarPaint by Apollo Power Ltd.
  • Sunmaxx PVT GmbH
  • TSGC Technologies Inc.
  • voestalpine Automotive Components Schwäbisch Gmünd GmbH & Co. KG
  • WAVELABS Solar Metrology Systems GmbH

All about the AWARD Finalists 2023

Testimonials Intersolar AWARD

Winfried Wahl
Head of Product Marketing, LONGi Solar Technologie GmbH
Intersolar AWARD Winner 2021

„It means a lot for us at LONGi receiving the Intersolar Award 2021 for our HiMO5 PV Modules, which has sold already 10 GW since our application. Since years our teams have been restlessly working to make monocrystalline photovoltaic products cost competitive and continuously increasing efficiency same time reducing cost of electricity."

Martin Hackl
Global Director Solar Energy, Fronius International GmbH
Intersolar AWARD Winner 2020

„It is an honor and makes the entire Fronius team proud to win this prestigious Intersolar AWARD 2020 for our uniquely versatile Fronius Symo GEN24 Plus. This hybrid inverter is the compact solution for solar self-sufficiency and represents a key element of integration with storage, backup power, heating and e-mobility. The international attention given by the Intersolar AWARD brings us a big step forward in achieving our vision of 24 hours of sun."

Haggai Hofland as testimonial of the Intersolar AWARD 2019

Haggai Hofland
CEO, Raycatch
Intersolar AWARD Winner 2019

"We are honored to have received the prestigious Intersolar AWARD 2019 in recognition of our innovative DeepSolar 2.0 solution. Our solution analyzes existing solar production high-volume data, cleans the data noise and provides actionable ROI-driven insights that increase yield and lower operational costs. This award is another great milestone on our way to move the solar industry one step forward towards digitization."  

Hans Jürgen Sauter as testimonial of Intersolar AWARD winner 2018

Hans Jürgen Sauter
Intersolar AWARD Winner 2018

"We are very happy and proud that we won the Intersolar Award 2018 for our integrated software and hardware package that reduces the time for planning and installing large-scale PV plants by 10 - 30%. We integrated Award pictures and statements in our company presentation as well as in social networks with a great feedback. Thus, the Intersolar Award clearly helped to raise the awareness for this topic and at the same time serves as a kind of confirmation for the innovative nature of our company."

Evaluation Criteria Intersolar AWARD

A. Degree of Technological Innovation (30%)

  • Technological advancement
  • Technological creativity and quality
  • Singularity in comparison with other solutions

B. Safety (15%)

  • Compliance with international safety standards

C. Technical and Environmental Benefits (20%)

  • Technological benefits
  • Environmental benefits and socially relevant features

D. Economic Benefits (20%)

  • Economic benefits for the user
  • Demand, markets and marketing strategy

E. Proof of Innovation (10%)

  • Proof of functionality and ingenuity, test results, certifications, patents, references

F. Presentation (5%)

  • Format and quality of description and presentation
  • Extent of application documentation

Intersolar AWARD Jury

Dr. Pierre-Jean Alet as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Dr. Pierre-Jean Alet
Sector Head I Digital energy solutions
Centre Suisse d’Electronique et de Microtechnique

Dr. Michael Fuhs as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Dr. Michael Fuhs
Editor-in-chief „pv magazine Deutschland“
Solarpraxis AG

Winfried Hoffmann as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Dr. Winfried Hoffmann
Applied Solar Expertise (ASE)

Philippe Malbranche as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Philippe Malbranche
Director Général
Institut National de l’Energie Solaire CEA-INES

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Powalla as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Powalla
Head of the Photovoltaics Division
Member of the Board of Directors
Zentrum für Sonnenenergie- und Wasserstoff-Forschung (ZSW) Baden-Wuerttemberg

Michael Schmela as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Michael Schmela
Executive Advisor
Solar Power Europe

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christof Wittwer
Director, Division Power Electronics, Grids and Smart Systems
Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE

AWARD Ceremony

Every year, the official AWARD Ceremony reveals the AWARD winners on a grand stage. The ceremony is attended by high-caliber dignitaries and brings together visitors, exhibitors, representatives and decision-makers from the international renewable energy industry, as well as national and international press representatives. 

The presentation of the 2023 award winners took place as part of The smarter E Europe in Munich on June 13, 2023.