The Intersolar AWARD – Powering the Future with Innovation

Intersolar strives to promote the industry’s power to innovate. As the world's leading exhibition series for the solar industry and its partners, Intersolar focuses on the technologies and services which make solar power globally successful, now and in the future.

In this context, the Intersolar AWARD is presented to companies making a substantial contribution to the success of the industry. Each year, the award honors technological innovations and groundbreaking solutions around the topic of the AWARD category Photovoltaics.

Over a period of more than 10 years, the flagship award for the solar industry has given solar companies a unique platform to gain broad international recognition and distinguish themselves from the competition.

Intersolar AWARD winners 2018

Intersolar AWARD winners 2018

The most significant developments and pioneering solutions in the solar industry have been awarded for the eleventh time in a row. This year, the coveted Intersolar AWARD in the category “Photovoltaics” was presented to:

Logos of the 2018 Intersolar AWARD ABB, Hanwha Q CELLS and Krinner Solar

The lucky winners ABB, Hanwha Q CELLS GmbH and Krinner Solar GmbH were honored at the AWARD Ceremony as part of the The smarter E Europe in Munich. For years, the AWARD Ceremony has been a highlight of the exhibitions and a source of excellent publicity for the winners, and the finalists. It is attended by high-caliber dignitaries and brings together Intersolar exhibitors, trade press representatives, and decision-makers from the international solar industry.

AWARD Winners

Trophy and finalist signet of the Intersolar AWARD finalists 2018

Intersolar AWARD finalists 2018

The finalists of the Intersolar AWARD 2018 have been selected. This year, the nominated companies have put forward cost-saving, digital and efficient solutions, making them worthy candidates for the prestigious Intersolar AWARD. The Intersolar AWARD finalists 2018 in the category “Photovoltaics” are as follows:

  • ABB
  • Ecoprogetti Srl
  • Gujarat Borosil Ltd.
  • Hanwha Q CELLS GmbH
  • Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
  • Interfloat Corporation
  • Krinner Solar GmbH
  • LG Electronics Inc.
  • RenewSys India Pvt. Ltd.

AWARD Finalists

Intersolar Champion of Change AWARD

Introduced at Intersolar North America 2014, the Intersolar Champion of Change AWARD honors individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to supporting the development of renewable energy at a national or international level.

In 2018, Intersolar and the California Solar and Storage Association honor Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor of California, with the first-ever Champion of Change Lifetime Achievement Award.

Born in San Francisco, Governor Edmund “Jerry” Brown Jr. has been in public service for over 50 years. During his first eight years as governor in the mid-1970s and early-1980s, he strengthened environmental protections, stopped the expansion of nuclear power, and promoted renewable energy. After a break from public life, Brown was elected Mayor of Oakland in 1998, and is credited with rejuvenating the city’s urban core.

The list of Governor’s Brown’s projects and policies to protect the environment from the effects of climate change is impressive. On the international stage, and at home in California, Governor Brown’s passion and accomplishments that span five decades have earned him universal respect as a true Champion of Change as governments and societies work to protect and prepare for the future of our planet.

“This global challenge requires bold action on the part of governments everywhere,” said Governor Brown. “It’s time to be decisive. It’s time to act.”

Testimonials Intersolar AWARD

Helen Steiniger as testimonial of Intersolar AWARD winner 2017

Helen Steiniger
Advisor to the CEOs, Next Kraftwerke
Winner Intersolar AWARD 2017 – Outstanding Solar Projects

"We were honored to receive the Intersolar Award 2017 for forecasting and trading PV power through our Virtual Power Plant. The recognition of our work involving the integration of PV into existing power systems and markets has helped us to further grow our business. And it’s just a good push to be awarded with such a prestigious prize – boosting our determination to establish the flow for 100% renewable energy."

Mathis Strippel as testimonial of Intersolar AWARD winner 2017

Mathias Strippel
Product Manager Sunny Tripower CORE1, SMA Solar Technology AG
Winner of Intersolar AWARD 2017 – Photovoltaics

"We are happy that the jury of the Intersolar Award has distinguished yet another SMA product in 2017: the Sunny Tripower CORE1 inverter, which significantly simplifies and further advances the use of solar energy. Its innovative design enables fast and cost-effective installation. Thanks to comprehensive communication features, the Sunny Tripower CORE1 will help more and more companies optimize and future-proof their energy supply."

Tobias Zwirner as testimonial of Intersolar AWARD winner 2017

Tobias Zwirner
Managing Director Phaesun GmbH
Winner of Intersolar AWARD 2017 – Outstanding Solar Projects

"We are honored to receive the Intersolar Award 2017 in the category “Outstanding Solar Projects”. Together with the University of Hohenheim we developed a system for milk cooling. The new system makes it possible to produce ice with the aid of solar energy, independent of the electricity network, thus maintaining the cooling chain from storage to transport. The Award helps us in our efforts to make this system known internationally."

Peter Schrum as testimonial of Intersolar AWARD winner 2017

Peter Schrum
Founder and Main Shareholder, SUNfarming Group
Winner of Intersolar AWARD 2017 – Outstanding Solar Projects

„We are honored to receive the Intersolar Award for our contribution to provide jobs and education, food and energy and infrastructure where they are urgently needed. Food & Energy Project could uniquely contribute to the sustainable improvement of the living conditions of people in developing countries and crisis regions. The Award is internationally recognized and supports us in our efforts to realize the Food & Energy Project worldwide."

Evaluation Criteria Intersolar AWARD

A. Degree of Technological Innovation (30%)

  • Technological advancement
  • Technological creativity and quality
  • Singularity in comparison with other solutions

B. Safety (15%)

  • Compliance with international safety standards

C. Technical and Environmental Benefits (20%)

  • Technological benefitsEnvironmental benefits and socially relevant features

D. Economic Benefits (20%)

  • Economic benefits for the user
  • Demand, markets and marketing strategy

E. Proof of Innovation (10%)

  • Proof of functionality and ingenuity, test results, certifications, patents, references

F. Presentation (5%)

  • Format and quality of description and presentationExtent of application documentation

Intersolar AWARD Jury

Dr. Pierre-Jean Alet as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Dr. Pierre-Jean Alet
Senior Expert Modules & Systems Photovoltaics

Dr. Volker Buddensiek as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Dr. Volker Buddensiek
Freelance journalist specialized in renewable energies

Dr. Michael Fuhs as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Dr. Michael Fuhs
Editor-in-chief „pv magazine Deutschland“
Solarpraxis AG

Philippe Malbranche as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Philippe Malbranche
Institut National de l’Energie Solaire CEA-INES

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Powalla as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Powalla
Head of the Photovoltaics Division
Member of the Board of Directors
Zentrum für Sonnenenergie- und Wasserstoff-Forschung (ZSW) Baden-Wuerttemberg

Dr.-Ing. Oliver Stalter as member of the Intersolar AWARD Jury

Dr.-Ing. Olivier Stalter
Director Division Power Electronics, Grids and Smart Systems
Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE